Review: Midnights Children – Salman Rushdie

It was only in reading ‘Staying On’ about post colonial India that I realised I’d never written a review of Salman Rushdies ‘Midnights Children’. This was another audio book I listened to on my commute – all 24 hours of it, and having seen the paperback it’s definitely a hefty novel. 
Rushdie is far from succinct in his writing, it’s descriptive and wordy, but it sets the scene very well. It’s the type of book which you have to suspend reality and get swept up in the larger than life characters and the children born at the stroke of midnight when India gains its independence. 

Another reason perhaps for its length is that whilst it tells the story of Saleem Sinai, the book starts decades before with his grandfather as a young man before working its way through history until we are up to date with Saleem’s life. 
I’m not sure I’m in a rush to read another of Rushdie’s books although I can’t put my finger on what puts me off specifically! 

Favourite quotes: 

We all owe death a life

What can’t be cured, must be endured

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

